The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize

Study on intersectional approach to integrating gender considerations in climate change adaptation projects
March 24, 2021
Scientists need to face both facts and feelings when dealing with the climate crisis
March 28, 2021
Show all

Source >>>


Journalism for every story that matters

Submit your entry for the 2021 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize between 1 March and 18 April 23:59 CET!Apply here

The Prize at a glance

The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize was launched in 1992 to honour courage in journalism. It rewards the excellence of journalists reporting about the stories that matter on the topics of inequality, poverty eradication, sustainable development, environment, biodiversity, climate action, digital, jobs and employment, education and skills development, migration, healthcare, and peace, democracy and human rights. 

The #NataliPrize was created by the European Commission’s Directorate-General for International Partnerships (DG INTPA), and named after Lorenzo Natali, a precursor to the international partnerships approach to global challenges impacting society.

Today,  the #NataliPrize community of ground-breaking journalists working for a better world  has become aglobal platform to the stories giving a voice to those whose vital message is often overlooked. This community of trailblazers includes past #NataliPrizewinners, past Grand Jury members as well as the strategic regional partners and ambassadors closely collaborating with the European Commission in the organization of the Prize. 

The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is open for applications

The Themes

Entries to this year’s competition should relate to the issues of:

  1. Inequality,
  2. Poverty eradication,
  3. Sustainable development,
  4. Environment, biodiversity, climate action,
  5. Digital (gap, connectivity, e-governance, entrepreneurship),
  6. Jobs and employment,
  7. Education and skills development,
  8. Migration,
  9. Healthcare (access, assistance), and
  10. Peace, democracy and human rights.

Categories and Prize

Applicants must choose one of the three categories when filling in the online form. The Prize is open to journalists in the following three categories: 

  1. Grand Prize: reporting published by a media based in one of the European Union’s partner countries on development and cooperation. 
  2. Europe Prize: reporting published by a media based in the European Union (not including the United Kingdom). 
  3. Best Emerging Journalist Prize: open to journalists under 30 whose reporting was published by a media based in the European Union (not including the United Kingdom) or in one of its partner countries on development and cooperation. 

The full list of eligible countries can be found here.

There will be up to three winners. Each winner will receive 10,000€. The winner of the Best Emerging Journalist category will also be offered a work experience opportunity with a media partner. Categories will not be awarded if quality is not met.

The #NataliPrize Community

#NataliPrize Community

The Community gathers past winners, Grand Jury members, strategic regional partners and ambassadors who speaks truth to power. Every year, the Prize receives applications from journalists around the world showing not just the courage of their reporting but also the passion for the issues covered by the Lorenzo Natali.Meet the #NataliPrize community

Who is Lorenzo Natali?

Established 28 years ago by the European Commission, the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is awarded in memory of Lorenzo Natali, a former Commissioner for Development and staunch defender of freedom of expression, democracy, human rights and development. He served three terms as one of Italy’s European Commissioners.

Natali played an important role in the EU accession process of Greece, Spain and Portugal. He also helped enact key measures to combat pollution and improve living conditions across Europe. In his final four-year term as Commissioner, from 1985 until 1989, he was handed responsibility for cooperation and development policy in the Commission under President Jacques Delors. It was in this capacity that he set up a broad network of relations with the governments and leaders of African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries.

Natali Prize 2021 RulesEnglish ( 495.47 KB – PDF)Download(495.47 KB – PDF)Available languages ( 2) Natali Prize 2021 Frequently Asked QuestionsEnglish ( 304.83 KB – PDF)Download(304.83 KB – PDF)Available languages ( 2) Natali Prize 2021 Eligible CountriesEnglish ( 184.86 KB – Other)Download(184.86 KB – Other)

European Commission Press Release Natali Prize 2021 Launch

International Partnerships